Rules Reference

Cards have a readied state, which indicates that a player can exhaust or resolve the abilities on those cards.

  1. A card that is readied is placed faceup in a player’s play area; a card that is exhausted is placed facedown in a player’s area.
  2. A player can exhaust a readied planet card to spend resources or influence from that card’s planet.
  3. A player can exhaust certain readied technology cards to resolve those cards’ abilities.
    1. Such a technology will specifically instruct a player to exhaust the card as part of the ability’s cost.
  4. If a card is exhausted, a player cannot resolve that card’s abilities or spend resources or influence on that card until it is readied.
  5. During a Ready Cards step, each player readies all of their exhausted cards by flipping them faceup.
  6. When a player performs a strategic action, they exhaust their chosen strategy card.
    1. That card is later readied during the status phase.


  1. Passive abilities on an exhausted card are still in effect while that card is exhausted.
  2. Planets will also ready at the end of each agenda phase. Leaders, relics and technology will not.
  3. If a game effect instructs a player to ready a planet, the readied planet must be controlled by that player, unless the game effect specifies otherwise.

Related Topics