Rules Reference
There currently does not exist a Living Rules Reference section regarding breakthroughs.
Notes
- A breakthrough is a faction specific card. Players start the game without their faction’s breakthrough.
- A breakthrough is commonly gained through an expedition, or the Thunder’s Edge legendary planet ability card. There are other game effects that can gain a player their faction’s breakthrough.
- When a player gains their faction’s breakthrough, they perform a breakthrough roll, which may cause The Fracture to enter play.
- A breakthrough has 1 or more abilities, and a synergy (other than for the Nekro player).
- If a breakthrough has a passive ability and an exhaust ability, the passive ability always remains in effect, even when the breakthrough is exhausted.
- If a breakthrough has an exhaust ability, the synergy ability always remains in effect, even when the breakthrough is exhausted.
- A breakthrough itself is not a technology; it alone cannot be used to meet a prerequisite when researching a technology, nor can it alone be used to meet the technology requirement of an objective.
- For notes about a breakthrough of a specific faction, see that faction’s page.