Bombardment (Unit Ability)

Rules Reference

A unit with the Bombardment ability may be able to destroy another player’s ground forces during an invasion. During the Bombardment step, players perform the following steps:

  1. Step 1 – The active player chooses which planet each of their units that has a Bombardment ability will bombard. Then, that player rolls dice for each of those units; this is called a bombardment roll. A hit is produced for each die roll that is equal to or greater than the unit’s Bombardment value.
    1. A unit’s Bombardment ability is presented along with a unit’s attributes on faction sheets and unit upgrade technology cards.
    2. The Bombardment ability is displayed as “Bombardment X (×Y)”. The X is the minimum value needed for a die to produce a hit, and Y is the number of dice rolled. Not all Bombardment abilities have a (Y) value; a bombardment roll for such a unit consists of one die.
    3. Game effects that reroll, modify, or otherwise affect combat rolls do not affect bombardment rolls.
    4. Multiple planets in a system may be bombarded, but a player must declare which planet a unit is bombarding before making a bombardment roll.
    5. The L1Z1X’s Harrow ability does not affect the L1Z1X player’s own ground forces.
    6. Planets that contain a unit with the Planetary Shield ability cannot be bombarded.
  2. Step 2 – The player who controls the planet that is being bombarded chooses and destroys one of their ground forces on that planet for each hit result the bombardment roll produced.
    1. If a player has to assign more hits than that player has ground forces, the excess hits have no effect.

Notes

  1. The Bombardment step happens outside of combat. No combat effects may affect a bombardment roll.
  2. Mechs may use their Sustain Damage ability to cancel a hit produced by a bombardment roll.
  3. Only the active player may bombard. Usually, but not always, only the active player will have ships in the system during an invasion.
  4. For notes about Harrow, see the L1Z1X faction notes page.
  5. The “0” side of the d10 represents a result of 10.

Related Topics